jump to navigation

Commuter tranformation February 21, 2009

Posted by concreteguy in bikes.
Tags: ,
trackback

Just took the next step in converting my mountain bike into a commuter. Added a Topeak Explorer rack. I can use the quick release basket from my single speed mixte on it. It’s kind of a tight fit under the saddle, but no biggie. Just rode it to the grocery store and back to pick up a few things and it worked well.

However, I really appreciate the step-through frame of the mixte now. If I were putting together a new commuter, or buying one, I would absolutely get a step through frame, like those offered by Breezer. Much easier to get on and off a fully loaded bike if you don’t have to lift one leg over the basket.

Comments»

1. dottie - March 20, 2009

That’s a great rack – the same I had on my old bike. I agree about the mixte frames! I don’t know why more are not made.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

