jump to navigation

Steel Bikes? March 8, 2008

Posted by concreteguy in bikes.
trackback

Rode over to my local bike shop today to browse the inventory and ask some questions about road bikes. I’ve not owned a bike with drop bars since my old Huffy Santa Fe 10-speed, so I’m thinking about renting one soon to see what size bike I might like, how it feels, if I like it, etc.Anyway, the guy at the shop was helpful, but boy, there aren’t many steel frames out there.

My online research has led me to believe that in a bike with drop bars, a cyclocross bike might be good for commuting since they are somewhat tough, and a touring bike might also be good with the longer wheelbase for stability and more upright position. I discovered Surly a couple of weeks ago. All steel. There’s also at least one Bianchi cyclocross bike that a friend of mine uses for everything. Real cool. It is also steel.

But man, nearly everything out there is aluminum. What’s the deal?(that’s a rhetorical question. I haven’t actually been completely oblivious to the cycling world for the last 20 years). I know it is light, but CrMo isn’t super heavy, and it seems like it is pretty durable.At any rate, I’ll probably rent a bike with drop bars, but so far I haven’t seen anything to convince me that my old Giant mountain bike, with some fenders and maybe a second wheel set wouldn’t completely meet my needs for moderately long rides and commuting, and the new Townie also for commuting and leisure riding.

Comments»

1. locus - March 20, 2008

Try the Jamis Coda. Steel frame, carbon fork, 700 cc tires, flat bar, all the brazeons for racks/fenders. It even comes with a suspension seatpost.

All I had to add were the fenders, and my kid’s bikeseat and we’re good to go.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

